Predictions for 2008

I was thinking about how to kickBlack Swan
off our first post of 2008. I thought
the year ahead would be an easy
topic to cover but shortly realised
it wasn’t. 2008 is going to be a big
year for us and Snagsta that’s for
sure but actually trying to
accurately predict how it will pan
out in any detail is a pretty
pointless exercise.

Phil’s reading a book about this very subject right now named Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb who defines the black swan concept as a large-impact, hard-to-predict, and rare event beyond the realm of normal expectations. Life over here under the railway bridge has been full of those lately!

I’ll leave the last word on future gazing to former England footballer Paul Gascoigne who perhaps put it best when he said: “I never predict anything, and I never will”.

If it’s creative inspiration for the year ahead you’re after then you may like to watch this video clip below – thanks to Iain Tate for sharing this.

[podtech content=http://media1.podtech.net/media/2007/12/PID_013220/Podtech_beating_the_little_hater.flv&postURL=http://www.podtech.net/home/4760/beating-the-little-hater&totalTime=198000&breadcrumb=849e01183766481b83ead49b457cc7c2]

9 Responses to Predictions for 2008

  1. Jonathan says:

    So – Alex really does give everyone the same Christmas present! I got Black Swan too – and am half way thru! Will have to think how Snagsta represents part of Extremistan!

    Happy New Year to the Snagsta team.

  2. Nice weblog right here! Also your web site so much up very fast!
    What web host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink in your host?
    I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours
    lol

  3. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly.

    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show
    the same outcome.

  4. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to
    be happy. I have learn this publish and if I may just I
    desire to suggest you few fascinating things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you can write next articles relating to this article.
    I wish to learn more issues about it!

  5. Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your site in internet explorer, could
    test this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a large component to
    other people will miss your magnificent writing because of this
    problem.

  6. What’s up to every , as I am actually eager of reading this weblog’s post to be updated daily.
    It consists of nice information.

  7. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This submit truly made my day. You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

  8. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of
    valuable experience about unpredicted feelings.

  9. You should go over this article for some useful tips related to video games.
    In order to create a code-once UI, it will seem foreign compared to any Native UI.
    The Localphone Android app is the latest of a series of services allowing Localphone customers to make low-cost international calls
    to landlines or mobiles phones to over 250 countries worldwide.

Leave a Reply

