Clearing the clutter from your desktop

I’ve seen a couple of interesting posts recently on the move towards storing your data online and thus minimizing the need to be tied down to one computer.

Matt Cutts has a dying laptop, so he’s happy that he is using a bunch of tools to keep all his important stuff online – of course they are mostly Google tools, but hey, what do you expect?

Robert Scoble (who incidentally has just agreed to let us store one of his lists in Snagsta – hooray!) posted on the subject too and as usual when I read his posts, I realize that I am nowhere near as close to the cutting edge as I think I am.

Of course, I can only hope that both of these bloggers are right in their thinking and that we do see more and more people start to move their data online.

I am, as always, very biased in my views, because we hope that Snagsta becomes one of the tools that people use in this movement!

To close, here is a short list of tools that may be useful if you do decide you want to keep more things off your desktop (and remember, I am not anywhere near as online as you can be, so there are plenty more out there):

1. del.icio.us
Such a simple concept, but a great way to store your favourite sites online.

2. MediaFire
File storage and more.

3. flickr
Never keep a picture on your computer again.

4. Zoho Writer
Online word processor – a good alternative to Google Docs.

5. Meebo
The IM aggregator, although I also use Skype.

6. Gmail
Move email off your computer and let Google keep them for you.

7. PasswordSafe
Have been recommended this, although I haven’t started using it myself yet.
 

4 Responses to Clearing the clutter from your desktop

  1. Nice post. I learn one thing more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will at all times be stimulating to read content material from other writers and observe slightly something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a hyperlink on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  2. ParaNorman says:

    Awesome post. I was browsing around and discovered your site, I’ll be checking out through the rest soon. Thanks

  3. WilliamRamsai says:

    I am quite puzzled. It’s time to go now, however the shopping center is closed.

  4. removal says:

    Hi there, for all time i used to check blog posts here early in the morning,
    since i enjoy to find out more and more.

Leave a Reply

